Sep 29, 2015

Pre-Release ARC REVIEW: Butterfly Dreams By A. Meredith Walters

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Buy The Book:
Connect With The Author:
Synopsis On GR:

In a powerful romance for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and If I Stay, New York Times bestselling author A. Meredith Walters tells the story of a troubled young woman and the unforgettable guy who teaches her to live—and love—to the fullest.
She’s waiting to die. . . . Corin Thompson is paralyzed by her obsession with mortality. Having lost both of her parents, she is terrified by the idea that she too will die young, and she loses control at any sign of illness. But when Corin connects with someone who has survived a very real brush with death, she begins to see the world in a whole new way.

He’s learning to live. . . . As Corin struggles under the weight of her neuroses, Beckett Kingsley is attempting to rebuild a life that feels all too temporary. With the ever-present threat of heart failure never far from his mind, he just wants to make the most of whatever time he has left. And that means pursuing the girl he never expected to find.

Together, Corin and Beckett finally learn to let go of their fears and take solace in everyday pleasures. Who knows what the future holds? After all, nothing lasts forever—the only promise they have is right now.

RATING: 2.5/5 stars

*** REVIEW ***

For me, if you compare yourself to The Fault in Our Stars, you have to be able to fill in the big shoes, because that's one of my favorite books ever. I don't mean to sound cheesy, but that's one of those books that leave a mark on your soul, at least in my case. That is why I was both eager and afraid to read this story which "dared" to compare itself to TFiOS. Another reason that gave me hope this might be my new favorite read is the fact that Walters is not an unfamiliar author to me. I read her Find You in the Dark (FYitD, #1) book before and loved it.Unfortunately, I can't say the same this time.

~ The main reasons "why":

1. Plot
The story was pretty slow-paced in the beginning. It was to0 ordinary for my liking and it simply failed to engage me. The first half of the story was overall okay, but I was mostly bored in the second half, with the exception of the epilogue which was the best part for me. It took me a week to read a 240 pages long book- that says it all.

2. Romance
The romance was quite instantish and therefore I just wasn't feeling any chemistry or connection between the MCs  since the very beginning which left me indifferent to their story in the end.

To be clear, my rating of this book is based on my personal reading preferances, meaning on the impression it left on me which can be summed by one word ~ forgettable. It is a well-written book with an inspiring and powerful message, but other than that it didn't leave the desired effect on me. All I can say is: read it and decide for yourself !




  1. Gah. Why do they do that? It's like they're setting themselves up for disappointment!

  2. sorry this did not grasp you. I can see why, it really does have quiet the shoes to fill


We love comments, so feel free to write to us. We try to respond to every single one and to comment back on your blog, if you have one.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...